Six photos, but one of these things is not like the others! Or maybe two, since #1 has a rabbit in it along with the peonies:

#2 is a peony close-up
#3 is dianthus and spiderwort, just off the deck
Speaking of the deck, here’s the squirrel we call Blackie
#5, Alpine columbine
#6, Nora Barlow columbine

As so often, I’m squeaking in under the wire with my Six on Saturday, but it is still Saturday in my time zone, and it has been a busy day. After doing a load of laundry, I went to the farmer’s market, then drove to visit a friend at a cafe by the river, and in the evening I did some planting. The two blue pots on the deck each got a cherry tomato plant (one red, one yellow) and an herb for company (one thyme, one Greek oregano). I also sowed some spinach and lettuce seeds in re-used plastic six-packs. We’ll see if any sprout. I had no luck last year. And I made a batch of shortbread.

Six on Saturday is hosted by the Propagator.