“I very much dislike prepared or repeated speech . . . . [When] prompted, ‘Do tell him about . . .’ I find an incident that was once true has become with telling both dead and abhorrent, and as if false. I lose much for myself by telling other people. . . . A factor moving in one’s thoughts is more vital, more powerful, than when it is exteriorised. This of course applies also to my writing. I can never again see hoar frost with surprised rapture since I put it into words in Yew Hall.”

L. M. Boston, Memory in a House ((New York: Macmillan, 1973), 122-3.

4 thoughts on “Keep it for yourself

    1. In her memoir about the house (12th c Norman core, Elizabethan additions, Georgian wing destroyed by fire), she says that it was the house that inspired her to write. She bought it in 1939, when she was in her 40s. I think she came late to writing, not to publishing.

Comments are now closed.