In general, though I love getting up and writing immediately, I get more done if I work out first thing. Once I get stuck into something, I don’t like to leave it. That is, I can take breaks for lunch or cat play-therapy,* but those allow me to go on thinking about research. Going to the gym is a much bigger undertaking, and while I’m there I’m also working/playing at modern languages. So it becomes harder to work in a workout, later in the day. That said, weather and climate issues often keep me at home in the morning.

Thanks to mild temperatures recently, however, I’ve been doing well at getting to the gym early, and I get more work done because I feel that I have the whole day, uninterrupted, ahead of me (the luxury of research leave! Believe me, I do know what a privilege this is and I am enjoying the hell out of it). Even if I get twitchy or do some procrastinating, there’s time to sink into a task and get a significant amount done.

Today, though, I’m drifty and distracted, and I realized it’s because I’m achy and uncomfortable. I’ve been increasing my workouts a little, and I’m feeling the effects. In the long run, this will pay off in more stamina and better sleep. For today, though, I need to manage the discomfort. I hope some ibuprofen will rescue the afternoon. Even if it doesn’t, I have already written about 260 words, and I could work on citations or read and take notes. Useful work can still be done in sub-optimal conditions.

If I were teaching, I wouldn’t even notice my current state. It’s a low enough level of discomfort that I could easily be distracted from it. But sitting in a room with books, Sabra, and the computer . . . that’s just not enough input to keep me from thinking about the body.

*For them, not me: trying to get Sabra and the others to get along. I think of it as play therapy, but from their point of view, it may be joint military exercises.

3 thoughts on “Writing, exercise, and comfort

  1. I hope the ibuprofen helps. I’m too twitchy to sit and write in the morning, although I dutifully try, so it’s better if I walk and then work later. Of course, that’s not a hard workout.

    1. Whatever lets you sit down comfortably. In my ideal life, I go for a walk at sunrise on a West Coast beach, and then write for a few hours. Once in awhile I get to do that. Around here the walking opportunities aren’t nearly so inspiring.

      In the end, it has not been a great work day, but as Mayhew says, mediocre days add up. Tomorrow is another day.

      I liked the “Dear Ms Undine” column.

  2. “Mediocre days add up”–those are words to live by. And thanks for letting me know that you like “Dear Ms Undine!”

Comments are now closed.