Harry Potter and the Methods of Rationality

Highly recommended. And I read all the way to the end, this time, not like when I was excited about The Magicians and then was disappointed with the last third of it.

It’s long. It’s involved. It took me three days to read, or maybe it was four; I’ve been sick all week and have kind of lost track of days. This kept me very happily immobilized in between coughing fits and hot-drink-brewing, but if you have actual real work to do and are the kind of Literature Addict who has to read it all, then you might want to put this off till vacation, or flu, or something.

It’s also very funny. Sir John has started it, and we’ve been reading bits aloud to each other and snickering.

If you liked HP, but found it a little too illogical, if you had trouble with willful suspension of disbelief during it, if The Magicians was a little too dark (and Quentin too much of a wanker), if you are interested in what happens when the scientific method collides with magical training, then I predict that you will love this book. I’m pretty sure Nicole and Maggie will get a bang out of it. This version of Harry bears a certain resemblance to Miles Vorkosigan (and I say that like it’s a good thing . . . ).

And if you lose several days to a reading binge, don’t say I didn’t warn you.

7 thoughts on “Totally. Awesome. Fantasy.

  1. I love, love, love HPATMOR. (Though I stopped reading a while ago because the updates were too long in coming so I wouldn’t remember what was happening, and I would want to go back to the beginning and start over every time. If it’s done now, I’ll have to actually read it all the way through).

    I actually use the opening chapters as one of the examples in my “here’s what critical adaptation is” lesson for students.

  2. I’m glad I’m not the only one who thought Quentin was a wanker (for me, it was like reading Catcher in the Rye again and being totally annoyed by Holden Caufield), and that the Magicians was a glorious premise totally wasted.

    Maybe this is the one I was really looking for — thanks for the tip!

Comments are now closed.