This is my seven hundredth post.  After . . . seven and a half years?  Not particularly prolific.  But long-lived!  You have to give me that.

It seems appropriate that this is a numbers post.  I like doing the numbers.  I’m starting a year of sabbatical leave (woot!), and need to think about ways to break up the time and make it meaningful to me, so I don’t waste it.  I’ve written before about the struggle I have to make time seem concrete and real.  It seems like progress to have worked out that I have this problem.  More than a year (since I have next summer and this summer) seems like a lot of time.  Fifteen months is even more time.  Breaking it down into weeks . . . there’s a long string of weeks, more than sixty.

I have found that I can schedule tasks for myself for up to three weeks at a time.  That is, I can be quite specific for one week (400 words on Specific Topic), a little more general in the second week (400 words added to Essay X), and in the third week things get vaguer (at least one hour on whatever Essay X needs then).  By the end of three weeks, I have to recalibrate.  But I can get my mind around three weeks, in a way that doesn’t work so well with longer lumps of time.

So, that long stretch of over 60 weeks?  Actually, it’s sixty-three weeks until I’m on contract for my next teaching semester.  3 x 3 x 7.  Twenty-one times three weeks.  Three weeks is 21 days.  So, three weeks’ worth of three weekses.  I can grasp this, and plan in three-week chunks (though in practice, I’ll need to review at least every second week, since when I start that vague third week, it needs to get some details).  It’s a plan.

5 thoughts on “700: three weeks’ worth of three weeks

  1. Yay for sabbatical! And what an interesting way of planning. I thought crudely in months, which more or less worked.

    1. I think non-standard amounts of time are easier for me to “make real.” I can be glib about “months” or “weeks,” but if I have to grapple with 3 weeks, or 9 days, or anything that doesn’t square with the calendar, suddenly it gets more concrete.

      When I put it that way, it sounds sort of brain-damaged, but acknowledging that I’m, um, time-challenged, and finding tricks to cope with that, has made a difference to me.

  2. Congrats on the sabbatical! And your sense of time is helpful for all of us heading into summer, even if our unstructured time is much shorter.

  3. I cannot wait until I’m eligible for sabbatical — if I stay in the profession that long. I want uninterrupted research time! Of course, with my kids, that might not be possible until they are in college. :-/

    Anyway, good luck! Good work! Have fun!

Comments are now closed.