Up a little before six.
Go out and walk about a mile, just to say I had some sort of exercise.
6:30, return to house, make tea.
6:45, translate 7 lines of [dead language] for my weekly [dead language] reading group.
7:15, feed and medicate cats, boil eggs and make toast to take in the car.
7:50, get dressed, gather up books, laptop, breakfast, lunch, and snack.
8:05, leave house.  Drive to nearby college library to check out book I need for discussion with independent study student.
8:25, start the drive to campus.  Think about what we’ll do in class.  Plan conversational gambits in one of my secondary languages for a meeting later with a native speaker of that language.
9:30, decide I’m enough ahead of schedule and tired enough that I’m going to stop for coffee.
9:45, arrive at my office.  Skim essay in book checked out at 8:15.
10:00, teach a class.  Talk briefly with 3-4 students afterward about their research papers.
11:00ish, meet with independent study student.
12:00, talk with colleague about shared graduate students.
12:20, eat lunch while reading and commenting on student work.
1:00, meeting of Very Important Sub-Committee of Important Committee.
2:45, we get out 15 minutes early!  Woooot!  The time goes in watering my plants and using the restroom.
3:00, meet with grad student from another department who needs another committee member.  Strange to say, I am more or less qualified to do this.  Discuss technical matters with Other Department’s grad advisor on the phone.
3:40, breathe deeply, zone out, make tea, eat snack.
4:00, start tackling e-mail to students, library staff, colleagues; ILL assorted books needed mainly for teaching; look up call numbers for books I’m going to need to consult in our library.
5:00, get head above water (or fires put out, depending on your preferred metaphor) and pull up awful scan-from-microfilm of Current Manuscript Obsession.  Finish looking it over.  Return to MMP-3 and start revising its introduction.
6:00, decide to start the packing-up process.  Several last-minute e-mails keep me in the office till about 6:20, at which point I leave and run into a student from a study-abroad program two years ago.
6:40, leave campus.  Stop at a grocery store to pick up items Sir John couldn’t find at our local.  Stop for gas.  Get a sandwich to eat in the car and call dinner.
8:25, arrive at home.  Do a little tidying up, checking personal e-mail, and so on; then take a bath—in which I read an article I assigned to my grad students.
10:30, go to bed.

3 thoughts on “An on-campus day

  1. That’s a long day. I get grumpy when it takes me fifteen minutes to get to or from campus. I can’t imagine these commutes!

  2. So if you read the 7:15 line very quickly, it becomes a horrible Titus Andronicus-style tragedy, pet edition.

  3. That’s a very long day. If I started reading an article at 8:25 after that, by 8:26 I’d be asleep.

Comments are now closed.