Well.  Day 3 was supposed to be a productive day.  But, as with Fie’s day, extra sleep was involved.  Sleeping til 7:00 shouldn’t be a big deal, but I tend to wake at sunrise, and starting the whole day an hour late throws everything off.

Main accomplishments: errands and cleaning.  And more fun reading.  Two hours at the gym, plus yoga.  One errand involved a long line; another, getting groceries, is not normally my job, but Sir John has a work crunch right now (planned, insofar as one can plan a crunch, around my break), so, since I like to eat, I’m picking up the slack.  Cleaning the kitchen isn’t normally my job either, but our cleaner needed a week off and the mess was making me crazy.  And then after the gym and a very late lunch I went back to reading, and then fell asleep in the recliner.  After that I was kind of woozy.  We should have watched Paris-Nice, but didn’t, so now we’re behind a day.  Don’t tell me what’s happening.

Since Notorious asked: what I’ve read so far.  Mennonite in a Little Black Dress; A Perfect Proposal (Katie Fforde); A Natural History of Dragons and Tropic of Serpents (thanks, n&m!).

What I thought: Mennonite was kind of fun, but (for me) more for the Mennonites than for the rest of it.  Being a couple of generations removed from farm life, but with a serious hangover from it about Women’s Work, I enjoyed the cooking and sewing being combined with a Ph.D. and academic life.  However, if this were a novel I wouldn’t have read it, because it falls into the category of People Messing Up a Perfectly Good Life With Bad Choices.  I mean, a bipolar husband could happen to anyone, but leaving and going back to him repeatedly . . . . Sorry.  I’ve dealt with enough crazy in my real life that I don’t want to read about it any more.  But the writer definitely has an engaging voice.

Fforde’s earlier romances were so much fun that I’ve got in the habit of reading all the new ones as they come out.  But I’m going off them.  Those that are about older (40-ish! mere slips of girls!) women starting over after getting dumped are a lot more interesting than the ones about youthful ingenues.  This ingenue was at least engaging, but I kept rooting for her to dump the horrible (but rich! and handsome) boyfriend who didn’t seem to have any nice friends or family (friends tell you a lot about a person) except his grandmother.  A guy who’s both overbearing and gullible?  (But rich!)  Dump him, now.  The heroine had a perfectly good plan for her life, and even a rich uncle of her own.  She didn’t need the jerk.  And with a huge disparity between her background and his, I foresee problems.  A step or so up the socio-economic ladder, sure, that’s a happy ending.  Someone who’s pinched pence all her life and a guy with a private jet, no.  Even the nice grandma turned out to be sort of manipulative and creepy.

The fantasy books were fantastic.  One online review said there was far too much about how the heroine got into science, which made me think right there that I would enjoy these.  The voice is dead-on for Amelia Peabody, or the real-life explorer Isabella Bird (whose letters and essays I recommend heartily to anyone who likes that kind of thing).  Dragons, however, are just part of this world, not magical.  The world is well-built and intriguing, too.  The main religion seems to be something very close to Judaism, not as thoroughly worked out as Lois McMaster Bujold’s Chalion series works out its religion, but I think these books aim at a younger audience.  Definitely worth reading if you like fantasy of this stripe.

Today, seriously, I need to do at least A Few of All The Things.

