It’s spring break, so I want to DO ALL THE THINGS!!!!

All the research!  Finish and send out an article, write fellowship applications, review another article, work on a chapter draft!

All the teaching!  Grade all the things, plan everything to the end of the semester, write and post all the assignments, plan brilliant tying-it-all-together classes, read all the things for grad class and independent study!

All the Life Stuff!  Taxes, house and personal maintenance, social life, shopping, mending, cleaning, exercise an hour a day, go to multiple yoga classes . . . .

Um.  I’m tired already.  Pick one category?  Or one from each category?  It’s only nine days, and I don’t actually have that much manic energy.

I should just go away at spring break, so as not to have to make these decisions, although of course that just makes all the work multiply and subdivide like some particularly nasty virus.

Most immediately: it is above freezing for the first time in I don’t know how long*, so I am going to go for a walk**, and look for signs of spring.

 

*Have I mentioned that I hate this climate?  The plum blossoms are over already in reasonable parts of the world.

**Or wade, since snow is melting, I devoutly hope; where are my wellies?

2 thoughts on “Thrashing

  1. I think one of my regular walks is going to require wellies soon (if not waders, or perhaps a canoe, or a kayak). I fear that the price of spring in many places this year will be flooding.

    And yes, spring break is too short (and I’m spending half of it at a conference, which does, indeed, lead to more realistic planning. I originally only had 5 days, though I got a bonus one thanks to a snowstorm).

Comments are now closed.