A year ago, I had big plans.  And I didn’t think I could manage to live up to them.  How could I possibly complete four essays in a year, while teaching my regular load plus a summer class, commuting, and doing the necessary exercise routines that keep me from physical breakdown?  But I had the MMP-1, 2, and 3 to work on, plus an unforeseen opportunity that I couldn’t turn down, and a conference paper as well.

Readers, I did it.  In calendar 2014, I finished and submitted the MMP-1.  When it was rejected, I re-wrote it and submitted it elsewhere.  I turned in the unforeseen opportunity essay on time (still waiting for comments on it).  I wrote and submitted two encyclopedia entries of 1000 words each.  And as of about an hour ago, I finished and submitted the MMP-3.

So the MMP-2 is still a work in progress, and I have been neglecting the big translation project for months, and I have another conference paper to put together.  And at least one book to write!

I’m declaring victory for 2014, and in 2015 will be concentrating on the book and the translation, because those are the things that will make the most difference to my scholarly reputation.  I’m amazed at how much I did this year, and knowing that I finished so much makes me feel reasonably confident about my ability to finish the book.  Gods willing and the creek don’t rise, of course.  I’m superstitious, and I fear that Something Awful will crop up and keep me from doing the work I have planned.  But at least for this year, I did what I wanted to do, and that is a great feeling.  Even if my work gets rejected, I finished it, I sent it out, and I have those drafts to work with if they need further revision.  Onward and upward!

Happy new year, everybody.  I hope it’s a good one for all of us.

5 thoughts on “The writing year in review

  1. That’s so encouraging to hear! Taming the octopus one tentacle at a time… best wishes for more tentacles overcome and sent into the world in 2015!

  2. Congratulations! That’s a lot to finish. And once you send off a draft, you are not just talking to yourself, and getting readers reports is usually useful. I’ve got three prices for which I have comments to respond to this weekend – most fairly minor. But it feels manageable when you get the comments back!

    And best wishes for a healthy 2015!

Comments are now closed.