I believe in naps if you want to nap.  Trying to stay awake when you’re sleepy just teaches you to ignore what your body needs, rather than putting you on a good sleep schedule.

This also applies (or should: the application is where I have trouble) to doing stuff you want to do: one should not repress impulses to work on interesting and/or useful projects because of some notion about doing something else first.  Want to start the grading so you can say you started?  Do it; never mind “write first.”  Feel like writing?  Do it; prep can happen later.  Have a great idea for a class activity?  Plan it; you can still get to the grading and writing, after the creative impulse is satisfied.

But . . . but . . . that sounds like selfish hedonism!

Oh yeah, baby.  Oh yeah.

4 thoughts on “Sleep and procrastination

  1. Hooray for naps. But I find I often need an excuse to behave in that healthily selfish way. For example, today, since I have a rotten cold, I feel entitled to focus just on the paying work in front of me (and on taking care of a sick cat) and ignore everything else on the to-do list.

  2. When I started to get enough sleep, I lost 50 pounds in two years w/o dieting. Because I wasn’t eating more to keep myself awake, or as consolation.

Comments are now closed.