Est Flora la belle Romaine,
Archipiades, ne Thaÿs,
Qui fut sa cousine germaine,
Echo parlant quant bruyt on maine
Dessus riviere ou sur estan,
Qui beaulté ot plus qu’umaine.

Tell me, where or in what country
is Flora the lovely Roman,
Archipiades and Thaÿs,
who was her first cousin,
Echo, speaking when one makes a noise
across a river or a marsh,
whose beauty was supernatural.

It is a truth univerally acknowledged that Facebook and other forms of social media killed blogging; some of us noted long ago that the academic-blog populace first changed, then shrank.  And yet there are, of course, numerous good bloggers still out there, some even from the Olden Days, like Dr Crazy (who somehow has kept her voice miraculously integral, distinctive, while still finding new perspectives; unlike, say, Profgrrrl, where the late voice really seemed like a different person from the one who wrote in the earlier Oughts).  Undine, of course, and Flavia; Notorious; Fie, though a relative newcomer, has been around a good while and is still going strong.

Nonetheless, I am nostalgic for the blogging community of years ago, and when I started thinking about People I Miss, the list grew long in very little time.  I didn’t interact with all of them.  Some of these were people I read before I started my own blog, or in the days when I was too shy to comment.  A few have posted relatively recently (within the last year), if only to give an update on the status of book or tenure decision.  But they’re mostly gone, and I wonder what happened to them, and hope they’re happy now.

Ancrene Wiseass, Badger, Dorcasina, Hilaire, Professor Me, Russian Violets, Heo Cwaeth, Phantom Scribbler, Bittersweet Girl, Pink Cupcake, Advice At Your Own Risk, Freudian Petticoat, the See-Janes (See Jane Compute, and See Jane in the Academy), Professorial Confessions, Marcelle Proust, Dr Brazen Hussy, Dr Crazy’s friend Dr Medusa, Fumbling Towards Geekdom, Ink, Annie Em, Renaissance Girl, Wayward Classicist, Terminal Degree, PowerProf, Dr No of Acadamnit, Medieval Woman.

A few of these I know about through other channels—I run into medievalists at conferences, for example; some, if I went to the effort to be an internet detective, I could probably track down.  That isn’t really the point, though.  Is there a point, besides that I am nostalgic for a time when we were all younger, cuter, sexier, more hopeful, in the way that the young(er) probably always seem to their elders?

Mais ou sont les neiges d’anten?

13 thoughts on “Dictes moy ou, n’en quel pays

  1. It’s funny that I’ve been blogging for six years now and am still a new-comer. haha 🙂 It’s just like academia, where I’m a whippersnapper at the age of 38. It’s a upside-down world. 🙂

    I, too, would love to know what happened to Wayward Classicist. I loved his blog. If you find out, I’d love to know. Also, I’ve hooked up with Ink on Facebook, so I’m still in contact with her a bit.

    Part of the reason I still blog is because of the community. Of course, I risk being outed to colleagues, and I’ve been told time and again it’s too easy to figure out who I am. That reality tends to weigh more heavily on me now that I’m full-time, and I wish I could password protect posts just for that community that I know exists. I might change to WordPress for that very reason.

  2. O/T… I wanted to say that the paper from the accountability thing that got split into two papers was published (as 2 papers) and published well (in 2 journals) the first place I sent each version! So thanks!

  3. Yeah — next May will be 10 years for me, and I’m still a year or two behind the *real* first wave of academic bloggers!

    I share your sentiments. Most of the former bloggers I cared about I’m still in touch with via Facebook or Twitter, but there are at least half a dozen whom I was devoted to, but whose RL names I never knew — and who have now functionally disappeared.

    Probably some of those I’m in touch with know who and where the disappeared are, and sometimes I wonder if that funny frequent commenter on an ex-blogger’s Fb page might be someone I interacted with in another medium back when the blogosphere was young. . . but I just have no idea.

    It’s a strange thing. It’s like having an ex who changed his or her name and left the country.

  4. The science side of academic bloggeing is still going strong! While people leave, lots of new people have joined in, and with a lot more diversity: more women, men and women of color, and queer, trans, etc, people. When I started bloggeing in 2007, science blogges were almost all written by white dudes.

  5. So good to see you back here, Dame E! As to nostalgia, I have it. Also, I wonder how different (how much less isolated and crazy) my grad school experience would have been if blogging had existed back then (early ’90s). Sigh.

  6. Dame Eleanor, I swear you read my mind across the miles. Last night I was (a little sadly) sprucing up the blogroll and thinking about all the great blogs that no longer were. You said it beautifully. And I don’t think I have any idea who any of these bloggers are in real life, unless they have said so on their blogs.

    1. I’m reading through New Kid’s early archives, and the comments keep reminding me of more people I’d forgotten (and how could I?): Mel, of “In Favor of Thinking”; Ancarett; Rudbeckia Hirta. Those were the days.

  7. Welcome back.

    Yes, there was a sort of wonderful flourishing a few years ago, but less so now. It was great to see those names again.

  8. Hello and welcome back!

    I miss Rudbeckia Hirta, and some of the others you name too!

    My blog pseud comes partly from the ‘See Janes’ – See Jane in the Academy was clearly JaneA and See Jane Computer was JaneC therefore JaneB was a logical pseud when I started up, also ?6 years ago – must be six years, I wrote about going to the rescue centre to choose Furball early on, she was 8 then and is now 15ish… So I’m part of the ‘latecomers gang’ along with Fie – there are still plenty of people on my blog roll, some come and go, others keep trotting along…

    It bothers me when people just go away without saying they’re taking a break – it makes me worry that Something Bad happened (on which subject, I do hope Belle is all right…). I only facebook because otherwise people in real life go on at me, and I facebook as myself about once a month, so keeping up on Facebook is not an option for me, so when blog people go they just… go.

    1. I’d forgotten that about the “B” and yet now that you mention it, I think you explained that when you started blogging and I thought it was very clever. I can’t believe Furball is so old! You clearly have a fur thumb.

Comments are now closed.