All the rest of the posts for this summer are pre-scheduled.  I’m not sure how often I’ll be around.  (Having said that, of course, I’ll probably think of many topics for posts, and will respond to your goal-setting obsessively in order to procrastinate on other things.  (Or does having said that  mean that I won’t?  (People are so perverse.)))

Allan Wilson (formerly known as kiwi2)
write and submit Cox 1
amstr
polish dissertation for September defense
Contingent Cassandra
submit Article J
Dame Eleanor Hull
complete rough translation of all my assigned chunks of Translation Project
Dr. Virago
finish draft of Slow Perk article
Elizabeth Anne Mitchell
finish Article B
emmawriting
finish MCA
Heu Mihi
research, plan, and outline the first chapter of Projected Book
Humming42
finish MS for Revised Book Project (RBP)
hypatia cade
complete Grant Article
jliedl
finish Article RT
John Spence
edit, introduce, translate short medieval text and submit it for review.
luolin88
submit Article H
K(ris)
combine two conference papers into one article
Matilda
revise article draft for publication
Metheist
contain the Many-headed Monster: about 20pp more of Head 4, ~15 pages introduction, groom the hair on Heads 1, 2, and 3.
nicoleandmaggie
clone Small Paper from Big Paper and submit both
nwgirl
write Conference Paper B
OdilonRodilon
finish/polish draft of Cutting Edge Research Book (CERB)
professorsusan
finish Book Spinoff article
Pym Fan
turn WGS Project into finished essay
RentedLife
4 chapters of Reincarnation Book (fiction)
Sisyphus
Revise and resubmit Floyd
SophyLou
revise paper for submission as article
tracynicholrose
complete draft of Methods Paper
What Now?
Finish one chapter of book project
Whoosh
Design Fancyproject; write up grant application for Fancyproject
Widgeon
finish article for Big Name Journal
Z
Paper on the darker side of mestizaje
Zabeeltwo
produce a detailed plan for Book Two

42 thoughts on “Maygust 2013 writing group, week 11

  1. Am I really the first? I will make up for being late last week, and since I’ll be out of range of the internet next Monday, it will last for two weeks. I had five days in the archives last week, and I realize I’m procrastinating on writing, but the archival work helps me reconnect to larger theme. I’m intrigued at the way I now work in the archives (at least one with wifi): when something comes up, I check bibliographies, recent articles, etc. to see where I am. I find relevant articles so that I can support things I say. In other words, it’s a much more interactive process. Not sure it’s better than “the olden days” (pencil and paper) but certainly different. I really only have a few archive days left, and then when I get home I have to churn out this article. But I feel as if I can do it now, and that I’ll have something useful to say.

    I’m intrigued too, because I’m really waiting on the writing, not trying to write all the way through. I think this sounds different from others, but it may just be that I’d done less research on this particular subject than others have done on their topic.

  2. Article sent this morning! I have a short essay I need to complete by the end of August, but my main writing goal is achieved. The article needs more work, but I’d like to revise it with readers’ comments. Thank you Dame Eleanor for hosting this writing group!

  3. I’m still feeling terribly distracted by both House Stuff and the rapid approach of a vacation trip. At the beginning of the trip, I may be able to take a writing retreat (depends on how many friends are in town), and I’m looking forward to that. There’s nothing like being Not At Home to help with focus.

    This week splits into 2 days at home juggling tasks, one day on campus juggling meetings, one day of travel in which I expect to be able to work on the plane, and a weekend that may or may not be a writing retreat.

    Therefore, goals: I will do at least a half-hour each of translation and grooming on at least 3 days. And I will do prep on other tasks such that I can take some work with me without needing a whole home library to do it. If the writing retreat pans out, I’ll try to make progress on the MMP-1, and finish both translating and grooming a chunk of translation so I can hand it off to someone else and make it Not My Problem for a bit.

    I have to admit that either last summer or next would have been/would be a much worse time to move. ( I refuse even to contemplate moving during a teaching semester.) That said, I really wish that I had more than 20 days at home (including weekends) before pre-semester meetings start. Still not sure when the actual move will happen. Last time we moved, I went to campus and Sir John supervised the whole thing; it was like magic. I really, really hope that can happen again! I’ll move fragile treasures and vitally necessary office stuff over myself, so they’ll be safe/available, but apart from that, I’d love it if I could avoid Moving Day.

    1. I hope the moving day goes smoothly! Kudos to you for making progress in the midst of moving, vacations, and other things.

  4. For the first time this summer, there were no pressing deadlines for teaching or moving. I spent time working on RBP this weekend and deeply enjoyed thinking and writing about this project. My best goal for the coming week will be to just make sure I make time each day to write.

    I am admittedly disappointed when I look the writing schedule I drew up in May, noting that I thought I would be working on revising my conclusion this week. It did not seem like an overly ambitious schedule at the time, but without the schedule and my accountability here, I would have nothing done at this point.

    Persevering.

  5. Accomplished: finished my 2 non-writing-group pieces, 1 in page proofs, 1 sent. These are not academic, they are journalistic, but they are Writing.
    Also, documents for my parents’ doctors and social workers and so on. These are not academic, they are personal business, but they are Writing.

    Not accomplished: anything on my own work, or any form of the self-care that is a prerequisite for my own work.

    Why: doing the parent papers was exhausting, draining, and destabilizing.

    What to do about this: reconstruct it as stabilizing, which is true since its concrete effects will be stabilizing.

    This week: sleep, exercise, housework, wrap-up from last semester (still not done because I put writing first, and this really drags on me), rest, see if I can come up with any truly restful vacation time, take in car, weed yard, stop self-neglect generally.

    Writing this week: what I can. Project is in good shape and is fun, so doesn’t actually have to be forced. Plus, I am in Daily Writing Updates on Facebook.

    General comments: I swear, I don’t need writing group as much as grading group and general self-respect group.

    1. I definitely need grading group. And it’s true that having undone tasks that aren’t writing can also nag at one in writing time. I keep trying to establish times to work on this, that, and the other so that I can say, “Now is this; you’ll do that at X time,” but this depends on actually doing the thing whose time has come, and sometimes I just. don’t. want to.

  6. It was not a great week for my poor Methods Paper. I did manage to read and take notes on the most important chapter of the book I found. I also skimmed the rest of the book and found only one other chapter that I think would be (somewhat) helpful to the writing of the paper. The rest of the book is fascinating but a bit off the part of this method that I want to write about.

    My time is definitely dwindling and I have many other commitments that I can’t put off for this paper. I’m hoping to work on it a bit this week but will keep my expectations low. My goal is to read that other chapter in the book and write some kind of outline or prospectus of the actual paper.

  7. Well, here I am, that was too long a period to go awol, but such is life. I have finished the *massive admin task*, and still have the *conference* to come next week, and an *article deadline* the week after. In between times, however, it’s time to get back to some book planning.

    This week, the aim is to review everything I’ve done so far in the book planning file and integrate a few bits and pieces I’ve picked up over the course of a few conferences this month.

  8. I got sidetracked from my modest writing goal last week, but in a really good way: I hit an archival treasure trove and spent hours and hours working through the documents. Exciting stuff, some of which opens up whole new areas that I need to research, but this is all to the good.

    This week I’m going to work my way through a couple of other sets of documents. I’m teaching summer school in the mornings (1 day down, 14 more to go), and I think I’ll take a couple of afternoons to go work in the archive.

    I’m deliberately not setting a writing goal, in part because I’m feeling excited but also flustered in light of the archival stuff I found last week; I think I need to do some follow up research to let everything settle into place, so that I actually know what I want to write. I’m normally a big believer in “write before you’re ready,” but in this case I need more info before it’s clear what exactly to write. But I will do some revisiting of my chapter outline in light of last week’s research.

  9. Last week, I looked at about half of the articles I needed to check out. After such a long time with no work on the article, two weeks getting something done feels like momentum.

    My goals for the week are to continue skimming the new articles I found related to Article H and to check on the submission requirements for journal X. My goal for time is one hour on the reading. Like last week, my times most free for working will be Tuesday and Thursday afternoons.

  10. Objectives last week: redo the results section. Contact my collaborator and see if we can finalise results. If time allows, finalise results section also.

    Well, I did none of the above. I did read one useful paper and add some stuff in to my introduction though, and do a fairly major sort out of files for this paper.

    What happened? I was not feeling Allan Wilson-like this week. I was caught with numerous collaborator queries on another paper that I am desperate to finish; its school holidays so I have major distractions; a collaborator was visiting me for the week specifically to work on a different paper; and I also had a number of (partly unexpected) guests staying for the week. So it was survival mode essentially. Still, I am starting to feel depressed about not making progress towards my goal, knowing that I have another week of school holidays, and then a week of extreme busyness. I need some effective strategies to progress effectively.

    This week I will try: work two, two hour blocks on the paper. This will hopefully include: Contact collaborator. Read 5 papers and write appropriate bits into the intro and discussion based on this reading.

  11. I did make some progress this past week. I still have a long way to go to get this chapter finished (at least it feels that way). I’m in the murky place of filling in blanks and drifting away from the clear handle I had on the chapter a few weeks ago. I think I just need to muck through a couple more days until I have enough new material to type in changes. I’m trusting that the chapter will reveal its shape more readily then, and I can work through another pass or two to finish it.

    This is a week where I’ll have to fit in work where I can, between shuttling kids to swimming and camp, negotiating neighborhood playdates, and general household responsibilities. I’m aiming for at least two hours a day, and planning at least three evenings of work time.

    Big goal: send ER chapter to advisor.

  12. Not enough work accomplished on editing chapter two. I had an entirely new teaching for the prep that consumed my time. I also bought a second cat.

    I found the very great potential to blow apart chapter two; however I am restraining myself from doing so. My goal this week is to only clarify specific points for the chapter–essentially a few sentences here or there, an annotated footnote, etc. because I need to get the draft done and I can no longer freak out about things as I am want to do. 🙂🙂

  13. I’ve been in pain almost for a week which I’ve finally figured out is my trapezius. It’s hard to write much on the computer when the base of your skull feels as if someone’s slowly inserting a rusty icepick. I’ve had to take a couple of days off entirely from the computer and I’m now working on devising an ergonomically safe work station at home while I work on easing the muscular pain.

    This has obviously cut into the past week’s writing time and likely will do the same for the next but I’m trying to look on the bright side and do some more related reading for various projects on the go. At least reading doesn’t hurt (neither does walking and I’m racking up several miles a day with the new puppy).

  14. Some progress this week: not a complete first draft yet, but I’m getting closer. Various small distractions and crises have coalesced into a Blob that’s wobbling my orbit. This week: probably no real writing time till the weekend, but over the weekend I hope to push on to the end of that draft. Once all the pieces of the essay are roughly in place, it will be SO much easier to think about the Whole…

  15. Well, I’ve been AWOL for two weeks after saying I was taking a one-week break from this piece of work … obviously that was longer than planned!

    But I think it has been good for me to take a break from it. I’m now aiming to come back refreshed and start work on it again. My aim for next week is to write 200 words towards the introduction to the edition.

Comments are now closed.