You may have noticed that I’m not taking attendance, so there are probably people listed here who haven’t been checking in.  But if you’re out there and want to sneak back in but are embarassed because you haven’t been here all along, I’m never going to know the difference.  Come on down for our last six weeks!  I’m much too busy panicking over everything I have going on to notice whether we’re up or down a writer or three.

At this point, I’m just happy if I sneak in some work somewhere in a day.  Certainly the number of phone calls I have to make and take, and the number of appointments that are stacking up, are encouraging me in a belief that early mornings, late nights, and weekends (outside normal business hours) are the only time I can do any real work.  Usually it’s some way into the semester before I start believing that; summer is normally when I can reclaim my own time.

So talk among yourselves; my Monday is going to house-related stuff, I fear.

Allan Wilson (formerly known as kiwi2)
write and submit Cox 1
amstr
polish dissertation for September defense
Contingent Cassandra
submit Article J
Dame Eleanor Hull
complete rough translation of all my assigned chunks of Translation Project
Dr. Virago
finish draft of Slow Perk article
Elizabeth Anne Mitchell
finish Article B
emmawriting
finish MCA
Heu Mihi
research, plan, and outline the first chapter of Projected Book
Humming42
finish MS for Revised Book Project (RBP)

hypatia cade
complete Grant Article
jliedl
finish Article RT
John Spence
edit, introduce, translate short medieval text and submit it for review.
luolin88
submit Article H
K(ris)
combine two conference papers into one article
Matilda
revise article draft for publication
Metheist
contain the Many-headed Monster: about 20pp more of Head 4, ~15 pages introduction, groom the hair on Heads 1, 2, and 3.
nicoleandmaggie
clone Small Paper from Big Paper and submit both
nwgirl
write Conference Paper B
OdilonRodilon
finish/polish draft of Cutting Edge Research Book (CERB)
professorsusan
finish Book Spinoff article
Pym Fan
turn WGS Project into finished essay
RentedLife
4 chapters of Reincarnation Book (fiction)
Sisyphus
Revise and resubmit Floyd
SophyLou
revise paper for submission as article
tracynicholrose
complete draft of Methods Paper
What Now?
Finish one chapter of book project
Whoosh
Design Fancyproject; write up grant application for Fancyproject
Widgeon
finish article for Big Name Journal
Z
Paper on the darker side of mestizaje
Zabeeltwo
produce a detailed plan for Book Two

53 thoughts on “Maygust 2013 writing group, week 10

    1. Congratulations!!!! 🙂 🙂 🙂 This is where I wanted to be, so it is great that at least someone has done it ! ! ! !

  1. I need to take the next two weeks off. I don’t think I’m going to come anywhere close to meeting my goal this summer, which is disappointing, but life had other plans. We’re moving, and starting a new job, so I need to use the next two weeks to sort that out. (Well moving might take longer.) I am happy with the writing I accomplished this week and I’ve been talking a lot with my writing partner to help me get a different view on certain parts. Most helpful–something I didn’t think was confusing, was to him. So now I’m working on new ways to get my point across. That and figuring out how to move from point A to point C on my thinking/draft list when I need a break from the chaos my life has taken suddenly.

  2. I’m here and back from a much-needed vacation. I made a fair bit of progress on the ruddy article this past week but I need MOAR TIME, damnit.

    In other words, I know what you mean about panicking. I have so much more writing to get done before the start of our term right after Labour Day and the only way it’s all going to happen is to get my family members to step in and relieve me of some of the puppy-minding duties which seem to be eating up my productive summer hours.

  3. I missed to check in last week as I was on a field trip which turned out to be much more intense than I thought it would be. The next three weeks I’ll be on conference travel but I still hope things will progress. I’ll meet some of my potential collaborators and my project should start to get some more shape due to that.
    Until then I want to read the last 10-15 papers on my list this week and write 1-2 pages summary about them. Not very high goals, but achievable while sitting in a plane and being transported from A to B

  4. Goals last week: 5 pages a day of revision, type all changes, 5 fixes, 5 pages a day of Cook.

    Accomplished: all but the 5 fixes.

    The daily quota really worked for me this past week. I didn’t meet every goal on every day, but I made good progress and had some wiggle room to meet the overall goals (e.g., 25 pages of reading over 4 days instead of 5) that I felt successful. And this despite a babysitter canceling last minute on Thurs.

    This week, I’m bringing in the reinforcements: Nonna. My mom is all resourceful, so I’ll have three full days to work, and at least a few hours other days.

    Goal: as much as possible on ER revision, aiming for 6 pages a day. Reach goal: send revision to advisor. Productive procrastination: work on final revision of Arc.

  5. The mid-summer panic about meeting goals is here and very familiar. On the plus side I did some revising this past week and have finally decided I have plenty of evidence and no more research is needed. I should have something approaching a final draft this week. It’s remarkable how busy the summers can be with house/children/family stress.

    1. Congrats on finishing up the research! That’s a big milestone. I hope the drafting goes well this week.

  6. “I’m much too busy panicking over everything I have going on” — Me, too! So I feel you. Luckily, though, I get a break from the panic next week. We’re going on a lazy, relaxing vacation, and the only work or other panic-inducing thing I’m allowed to bring along is Ivanhoe, which I’m reading for a honors thesis. But at least that’s kind of fun.

    Anyway, this past week I edited and added stuff to my hard copy of Slow Perk. I got rid of redundant paragraph, tightened up others. I’m now back to thinking that the more ambitious version of it is kind of cool, so I think I will continue to work on that this summer. And then I’ll send it to a few friends to read once it’s in readable form, revise some more, and submit it to Journal of Sexy Fun Time in Medieval and Early Modern Studies by the March deadline for their only open-topic issue. If it gets rejected, *then* I’ll cut it down to the simpler argument and submit it to Journal of Single Genre Studies.

    This week promises more of the same — editing, refining — plus getting ready for our trip Up North.

  7. I’m just about at “end of summer” panic as we’re back on contract in early August down South. Other commitments (like a new prep) are bullying there way in and time is quickly running out. Its not looking good for a full draft of the Methods paper but I am continuing to make progress. I found what I believe is the only book written on this method and am working my way through that. I also wrote Memo #2, which is slowly bringing my thoughts together on the paper. For next week I hope to finish the book and write many notes.

  8. I turned a “completed” draft of my Chapter 1 revisions into three readers–not my committee–on Friday afternoon. I am very happy that I finally did that. Not so happy about the content necessarily, but I had to come to the conclusion that I just cannot “see” the chapter anymore, and I need readers to point out what I am missing.

    I am finishing up my last week of lecturing (all new prep–essentially all on diplomatic negotiations–noose please) so I am focusing on revising chapter 2, which is my most complete chapter. I mean, I almost love this chapter. I should hopefully have that done by Friday morning.

    1. Have fun working on the chapter you almost love! (I have one of those too, but have to get through mediocre chapter and chapter I absolutely hate first.)

      1. Chapter one is the chapter that I hate–probably why I can’t see it–because I don’t want to see it 🙂

  9. I met part but not all of my goal for this week. I did one rather than two days in the archive and wrote 350 rather than 500 words. But I’m not giving myself a hard time for that, considering the week also saw a trip to the ER when my partner dislocated her shoulder!

    It’s a little hard to know what’s reasonable for the week to come, since my partner has an orthopedist appointment this afternoon, after which it may become clear how long I will have to drive her around everywhere. Plus, my nieces are here until Wednesday. But whatever happens, I’m hoping to get into the archive for at least a couple of hours, to write another 500 words, and to get some note-taking done on a secondary source.

    Starting next Monday, I’ll be teaching summer school in the mornings for three weeks, which will give some structure to my days and, I hope, make for more productive afternoons.

    1. The structured mornings can really help, I find. I hope your week turns out to be productive and enjoyable.

  10. I have been working on my paper every day this week, though it can be very short. I am writing every day, though some of them are only minor re-writing of the old paper. I am very slow and I sometimes get sick of being a slow worker, but much better than nothing.

    Ok, I still have 6 weeks. I’ll do my best.

  11. I’m surrendering to Teh Crazy. Or maybe I’m just in denial. I am hanging around waiting for a phone call that will send me over to the Other House, and I have managed to do 150 lines of translation while waiting. So one goal for this week is going to be 150 lines of translation! Done! Woot!

    So, let’s see, last week’s goals . . . oh, so not met. Delusional, in fact. Let us draw a tactful veil and move on.

    This week: 150 lines of new translation. 😉 And some grooming of old translation. Mainly I’m trying to stay flexible (damn, that hurts) and take advantage of whatever bits of time I can salvage. I’m afraid that if I set any definite goals or schedule, I’ll just jinx myself and there will be another whole range of interruptions cropping up. But I do hope that this morning’s results are a good sign for the week ahead.

    Congrats to N&M, Amstr, and Metheist. Wishing calm and unexpected productivity to the others of you who are panicky. And JLiedl, well do I remember the distractions of civilizing young animals; good luck getting the family to pull their share of the weight.

    1. Well, having spent far too much time today trying to get someone to call me back, I feel your pain. Dealing with domestic issues is sometimes a full time job. I want a secretary, PA, or something to run my life for me.

      Good luck staying flexbible, and getting manageable things done while waiting! I never do that well.

    2. This morning’s Thing turned out to be quick and easy. And cheap, considering. Awesome. The rest of the House Stuff, for now, is officially Someone Else’s Problem. So, while I am still sitting quietly, looking at goals out of the corner of my eye and pretending I don’t have any particular designs on them, maybe, maybe, last week’s goals could still happen, just delayed . . . staying quietly flexible here, no sudden moves . . .

  12. I. Accomplished:

    So close to zero last week, it was almost a complete failure. And I was exhausted from the geriatric care. On the other hand, today is the first day I feel rested. Since May 13, when we started. And I am working on one of my other, lighter pieces.

    Part 2 of my project for this group got into another conference this week, too, but I do not know whether I can afford to go to said conference. I am frustrated about that as well, though we all know what DEH says about the conference trap.

    II. What worked or did not work:

    I have been using this writing group wrong. I want a writing group but I can easily turn anything into too much pressure and I think that is what I have done with this.

    I really, really want to get back to my project, and it is going well, but I have procrastinated on so much else because of it, and having done that is making me anxious, and then there have been two weeks of geriatric parent Hell.

    III. Tentative plan for this week:

    Lead nomal life. Get things done without pressure, just moving right on ahead, one thing at a time. Feel confident in project and fit pieces of it in. Assess next Monday — no word or time goals this week, just commit to working on, and see what comes up.

    1. Your situation is one in which I’d say conferences really are important. (Also you are more outgoing than I am!) The geriatric care can be enormously draining, sometimes in ways one isn’t aware of until getting away from it. Please don’t use this group to add more stress. Confidence is good, though!

      1. 🙂 Parental MD says I am looking at 10+ more years, at least for one parent. So I have to figure out a way to work this in as a non-drain, as much as possible. My parents have always been a drain, so if I can limit that it will already be good.

        My summers never go well unless I leave instantly in May and spend that month on a very escapist type vacation, beach or foreign city. I know this, but am not always in a position to implement.

      2. Wow. Oh dear. I don’t think I have any good advice, just lots of sympathy. My remaining parent is non-draining, at least for now, and words are inadequate to convey the relief this is after the years of drained energies. I will offer support for the idea of implementing any summer-saving strategies you can, at this point.

    2. I love your plan for the week. It looks like a gentle recovery week that doesn’t give up on moving forward in little increments.

      1. Thanks CC, Amstr, and DEH! The parent thing could be going worse, and I have actually had worse summers, and I don’t have class until 27 August, so … I think I can do a save here.

        And thanks for perspective on conference. I do think I should go in this case, if I can possibly figure out how.

  13. The week was relatively productive, but not so much for this paper. I was distracted by a different set of demands, with questions for days on end about another project, that required lots of checking of data to resolve simple issues. I ended up in a rather volcanic space, not good for focus and thinking. However. For this project I managed to redraw the graphs, which was interesting and has allowed me to think about the data in a different way, and confirm some of my thinking. I love visualising data. I briefly touched the introduction, but need to do more on this.
    Objectives for this week: redo the results section, which I had hoped to do last week, and did not. Contact my collaborator and see if we can finalise results. If time allows, finalise results section also.
    I am excited by Nicoleandmaggie submitting. It feels like an exciting moment for all of us – a reminder that achievement is possible!

  14. Thank you for the invitation to sneak back into the group. Two months ago, I said I’d be gone for three weeks. I’m not panicking yet, because my summer goal, to submit article H, is a modest one. That said, I can’t meet the goal if I ignore the article completely. Last week, I managed to get re-started with a non-writing goal, and I managed to do an MLA biblio search. This week, my goal is to skim the articles to see which I need to read more carefully. I have a lot of fairly low-key appointments and tasks this week. I think my best bets for carving out time to work will be Tuesday and Thursday afternoons.

  15. I did almost exactly half of what I intended this week, but I’m okay with that. And we’re going to be visiting family for the next two weeks, so, if I read a goodly bit of the book that I’m bringing with me, it will be a success. Success, I say!

  16. Though I didn’t manage a complete first draft of the WGS essay, I did do some drafting and even made a little progress on the structure front. So same goal this week: a complete first draft. (And more sleep, please.)

  17. Like our esteemed host Dame Eleanor, I had a week of house overwhelm. The movers came yesterday and transported most of my belongings from one place to another, but it’s like someone vomited boxes all over the clean and serene space. I am hopeful that with urgency behind me I can carve out some time to get some writing done this week. Returning to real life.

  18. late, sorry. I just about met my goal, though the “30 minutes a day” ended up being “a bunch of time on the weekend.” Good things are happening scholarship- and market-wise, though. Really, if I can do a little reading and writing each day on this project, I’ll be good.

    Goals for next week: 1) finish reading book and make notecard; 2) make notecard for other, important book; and 3) read an article. But I also have a Skype interview next week, so if I don’t meet all of these, it’ll still be OK.

    In other words, this week, I’m going to go with “it’s all good.” Or maybe, from Almost Famous, “it’s all happening.”

  19. What’s really funny is I was on my way to writing my goals for the week and reflecting and all, commenting as I read. Then I got distracted (this was yesterday afternoon) and it’s been more than 24 hours. I realize I’ve been leading a double life, working in the archives as much as I can during the day, and then trying to deal with various admin stuff in the evenings. Not precisely relaxing, but I do get to work on my own stuff.

    Last week I got less done than I expected: I was trying to read plays on the train, and really, I wanted to read trash, or watch the scenery, or take a nap. So . . . But that’s OK. My weekend included a visit to my 99 year old sister-in-law, who still has half her marbles, but is now (as of 3 months ago) living in a care home and not independently.

    I feel both as if I’m making progress, and ready to panic. I have 5 archive days this week (Tues-Sat) and I’ll see where I am at the end of it. Today, I got a really neat connection in one of my documents and I was all excited. (Finally, I can tell people!) And I think there is an interesting article to write, and it won’t be that difficult when I sit down to do it, and I will have some new ideas. But really, I have two weeks, then a week’s vacation, and then a week later I head home. I will start seriously writing when I get home. I got between panic and thinking I’ll be fine. And both are true!

    So for the next week, it’s just to continue plowing through the archives, getting the schedule for the conference for which I’m program chair finished in the evenings. Maybe by the end of the week I’ll feel more in control, and actually try a day or two of writing…

Comments are now closed.