What is your goal for Week 2?

Allan Wilson (formerly known as kiwi2)
write and submit Cox 1
amstr
polish dissertation for September defense
ComradePhysioProffe
write review article
Contingent Cassandra
submit Article J
Dame Eleanor Hull
complete rough translation of all my assigned chunks of Translation Project
Dr. Virago
finish draft of Slow Perk article
Elizabeth Anne Mitchell
finish Article B
emmawriting
finish MCA
Heu Mihi
research, plan, and outline the first chapter of Projected Book
Humming42
finish MS for Revised Book Project (RBP)
hypatia cade
complete Grant Article
jliedl
finish Article RT
John Spence
edit, introduce, translate short medieval text and submit it for review.
luolin88
submit Article H
K(ris)
combine two conference papers into one article
Matilda
revise article draft for publication
Metheist
contain the Many-headed Monster: about 20pp more of Head 4, ~15 pages introduction, groom the hair on Heads 1, 2, and 3.
nicoleandmaggie
clone Small Paper from Big Paper and submit both
nwgirl
write Conference Paper B
OdilonRodilon
finish/polish draft of Cutting Edge Research Book (CERB)
professorsusan
finish Book Spinoff article
Pym Fan
turn WGS Project into finished essay
RentedLife
4 chapters of Reincarnation Book (fiction)
Sisyphus
Revise and resubmit Floyd
SophyLou
revise paper for submission as article
tracynicholrose
complete draft of Methods Paper
What Now?
Finish one chapter of book project
Whoosh
Design Fancyproject; write up grant application for Fancyproject
Widgeon
finish article for Big Name Journal
xdanne
single project
Z
Paper on the darker side of mestizaje
Zabeeltwo
produce a detailed plan for Book Two

47 thoughts on “Maygust 2013 writing group, week 2

  1. Goals for week 2:
    read 3 review articles on second interesting branch for Fancy topic and contact 2 possible hosts for my current ideas

  2. Met week 1 goals (even though a couple of those days I really didn’t want to!). The small paper is as outlined as it can be without more reading and data work, I squished the data and methods section from 1000 words each into 600 words combined and avoided self-plagiarism while doing so. I also wrote small lit reviews of the 5 woefully not-included papers that the editor recommended, and pulled out related literature summaries that I hadn’t cited in the big paper because they didn’t fit. But if I’m including these 5 papers, I might as well do a thorough job of this strand of the literature. More differences from the big paper!

    Process goal of an hour a day of work on the paper, with 30 min of that to be specifically writing (the remaining 30 min can be either reading or data work as necessary).

    1. Last night I dreamed that I had failed to write from Tuesday-Friday. I was happy to wake up and find it was only Tuesday. Working on this paper is a quiet little oasis during the morning before the other 3 projects come crashing down on my head. But still, the sooner it is gone, the sooner I can tame the other three projects.

  3. My goal for week two: Complete bibliography and flesh out the outline for section one.

    I did pretty well with the first week’s goal. Having library material that had to be returned was remarkably energizing when it came to wrapping up my notes into the lit review.

    I hope your translation continues apace.

    1. Those external deadlines are great. I get through more books sitting in the library a couple hours before closing than when I check them out and take them home.

  4. First week’s goal: Met, but it was pretty lightweight (wisely, as it turns out).

    This week: Use Known Primary to think about some categories of Phenomenon, which may become chapter sections. Write a messy brainstorming page. Go through one library book.

    Trying to keep it doable: I have another article to get out the door this week, a friend coming into town on Friday, and a party to host on Tuesday. Along with all the usual

    1. I’m always amazed at how much you get done in so many different areas of life. You had a post once about list-making and achievement that was both inspiring and exhausting! 🙂

  5. Met the first week’s goal [1). Review the abstract I submitted for the conference paper; 2). Start preliminary bibliography — probably nothing more than just setting up a folder in EndNote.]

    This week: Rough out an outline.

    A modest goal, but about the best I can manage between conference travel this week and the butt-kicking my book ms. is giving me right now.

    Setting limited goals for conference paper B is helping to at least keep that project in my peripheral vision. I hope that will help once I can turn my full attention to the paper.

  6. Week 2 goals: 1) reread original paper and make notes in light of recent reading, 2) read and make index-card precis (precises? precisi?) on three articles, 3) at least an hour on searching/data entry (article is about access issues for postWW2 girls’ educational film, searching a list of titles for digital availability).

    Week 1 goals: all met, though updating bibliography for literature review is going to be an ongoing process, due to need for ILLing etc.

    Really appreciating the Monday-morning check-in, as it lets me have the weekend to close out on the goals. Keeping the goals modest and concrete is also a good thing. Looking forward to the three-day weekend! 🙂

  7. I met Week 1’s goals because they were small. This paper is being squeezed in around others, and my week to week aim is keeping the paper in my peripheral vision, as nwgirl put it, above.

    So keeping it small again this week, my aim is to cut and paste the two papers together into one very rough draft. This is no more than a first pass at creating a physical document of what’s in and what’s out.

  8. I met last week’s goal, but through a single long session on BookTwo, rather than a series of daily sessions (which is the habit I’d prefer to cultivate).

    Goal for week two: set up the basic outline of the book in Scrivener, and compile existing notes.

    I’m keeping it modest at this point — too many other things on the go.

  9. I partially met my goal for week #1, but wish I’d made more progress on the sources
    Goal for week two: read through all my printed out primary sources and compile some statistical data.

    1. Keeping track of how long it takes you to read a particular kind of source is really useful, though. It helps a lot with making detailed and realistic plans for future work.

  10. I did some of my last week’s goals. I did some literature survey, read the old draft and made a revision plan.

    Next goals:
    read importnt materials. Make a list of related primary sources and started to read them.

  11. I met my week 1 goal (500 lines of rough translation). This week I’m going to step it up slightly: 500 lines of translation (100 lines a day for 5 days) plus grooming at least 200 lines of the last rough chunk (from my spring Translation Challenge). I’d like to try doing that in 4 sessions of 50 lines each, but I’ll have to see whether grooming works better in larger or smaller stints.

  12. I met last week’s goal of typing up all the notes I had previously written. I even got a little more reading/note-taking in. Typing the notes led to organizing the notes and the beginnings of an idea on how this paper might be structured.

    The reading I’ve done to date has mostly been books and I have a stack of journal articles I need to get through. So the goal for Week 2 is to start reading and taking notes on the journal articles. I have no idea how many I can get through since I suspect some I will skim and discard.

  13. Last week’s goal got turned on its head when my operating system crashed and took down access to the articles I planned to read. Instead I read the first three chapters of a book I planned to read later in the summer–it has been extremely helpful in reorienting me toward things I need to do for RPB like defining my terms up front.

    This week’s goal: read those articles and integrate notes from articles and the book chapters into the existing outline. Since I’m not teaching again until June, this should be a manageable goal.

  14. Week 2 goal: Get through 3 more drafted sections: expanding, editing, organizing, hopefully typing it up as well. I was not able to type up last week’s work.

  15. I didn’t meet my Week 1 goal. DEH, could you remind me when the deadline for submitting comments is? I’m in a different time zone and get confused… thank you.

    Next week, I will at least try to “touch” MCA amid many other responsibilities. Again, would like to look through my folder of already-downloaded articles and take some notes, and / or review the first drafts of the results sections that I wrote last summer to see what kind of literature I might need to get more into.

    1. No particular deadline, but the idea is that you post at the beginning of your work-week. I try to get posts up by 6:00 p.m. central USA time on Sunday, which I think is early Monday morning Down Under. Some north Americans seem to like to plan their weeks on Sunday evening, anyway. It’s possible that we have some people still teaching who prefer to post on Tuesday because that’s a “research” day; I haven’t worked that out yet. But I’m not going to post everybody’s weekly goal every week, just keep the main goals in front of us, so I don’t need to get your new goal by a particular time.

  16. Week 1 goals (mostly) met. Spending more than 30 minutes on several days made up for the two days I spent less. And I did write a précis of the material I’ve gathered to date. (Trying not to feel overwhelmed by the amount of research left to do on the WGS Project. Reminder: not all of it needs to be done for this summer’s essay.)

    Week 2 goals: Assemble a list of Subject’s published writings and start tracking down the ones I don’t yet have copies of. Continue drafting/outlining in search of a structure for this essay.

  17. Week 1 goals: I had to revise my goal because when I sat down to write, I didn’t know what I had or where I was going. So, I reread the draft of the monster and made several notes of what I had to do. Some of it not so bad, some of it pretty bad. I mainly needed to get my head wrapped around my ideas again, and surprisingly the lingo/jargon.

    Week 2 goals: go through 2 ILL books due; outline chapter 4; 1500 words

    1. This is for you and Pym Fan, Zabeeltwo and anyone else who needs to hear it: the point of goals is not that we should fulfill them exactly but that they give us something to aim at. If you start at 9:30 rather than 9:00, or work longer on 3 days and not at all on 2 though the plan was the same amount on 5 days, or if you discover that something else needs to be done first, then Good On You!. You sat down and got work done. If you have an Inner Foreman who says, “You’re docked because you came in late,” punch him in the nose and leave the factory for your own little artisan’s shop that you open when you want to—and if you wind up leaving early or staying late because the creative spirit is moving, either is fine!

      1. Thanks, Dame Eleanor. It’s good to be reminded not to be too hard-nosed a Foreman to oneself. (And I love the idea of that little artisan’s shop… mmm…)

      2. Thanks for this. I did need to hear it because I am struggling not to be so condemning of myself.

  18. Also, generally speaking, on goals changing, notice what Tracy said about typing notes leading to outlining: doing one useful but apparently mechanical thing can lead to more creative planning work. It’s all good. Just keep moving toward your August goal.

  19. Sorry to be late to morning coffee. I have mine now, after an exploded evening/morning.

    I did the One Big Thing last week, which was to get my final chapter (ER) to my writing partner. I had hoped to also get Arc chapter to my advisor, and a bit started on writing the conclusion. But OBE.

    Goal for this week: One Big Thing: Arc to advisor; other things: revise Titus, start drafting conclusion.

    1. How exciting though, to have moved something big off your desk with a sense of accomplishment.

  20. This is bad- I can’t even find my file with my goals in! Clearly I need strong tea! Its now half past six in the morning on Tuesday here, so its justified.

    I met about half of my goal for last week, completing data curation on one segment of Cox1. I did also draw a few graphs because I find it is impossible to contain my excitement with data. I imagine visualising data is like a tailor inhaling the scent of the material before they sew. . . I will continue with data curation this week, and hopefully chip off another section of this, thus keeping my project in my peripheral vision ( I really like that idea), as the week ahead is rather stacked up with quite a lot of other work.

    1. Oh how I love new data… I hate the fiddling for final, publishable diagrams, but there’s something very heady about those first graphs and all the possibilities they might show…

  21. Met last week’s goal — I’ve set up a weekly summer schedule (though I haven’t *completely* stuck to it today…not badly off, though).

    Today I began going through what I had so far for Slow Perk, and added some marginalia in light of thoughts inspired by papers at K’zoo, so for the rest of the week, I think I need to work on reshaping and outline in which to plug in various bits and pieces.

  22. Last week’s goal: write up explanatory notes on 30 lines of the text I’m editing.

    Progress report: wrote up notes on 10 lines (which I’ve not yet typed in).

    Analysis: well, the reason for not meeting my goal was simple – I forgot about some other obligations when setting it! I’ll try not to do that again.

    Next week’s goal: write up explanatory notes on 20 lines; draft a paragraph for the introduction on the script and handwriting of the manuscript copy.

  23. Last week’s goal: 2.5 hour writing session Thursday, 30 minutes Friday, dedicated to this project.

    What really happened: started summer work schedule Thursday, with a vengeance, have hardly stopped since, but there is so much else (we were still in finals and so on last week, and I have some other projects going too) that the only work that happened on this piece was the 30 minutes Friday.

    This week’s goal: 30 minutes a day on this piece, starting tomorrow Tuesday. I will have to step it up, obviously, but in order to do so really need to clear my desk. I am like John Spence and also I got a different revise/resubmit with very interesting comments and suggestions, and it is distracting me.

    Analysis: I see that getting up very early will be key this summer and so will rigidly planned exercise and recreation. Otherwise I am really liable to go into writing frenzy and I can see I will get something good done if I do that, but actually more if I tear myself away.

  24. Last week I planned to spend two hours a day in solid lockdown mode working on writing and polishing Chapter 2. I had very detailed daily goals which didn’t pan out just quite as I hoped. I would say I was successful in a sense (particularly since I forgot that I had some other time consuming obligations as well). I am going to give myself encouragement rather than a stern warning, because even though I didn’t spend all of the time in lockdown, I did have some good breakthroughs.

    So for next week, I am going to set myself the same goal of two hours of lockdown per day, but this time finishing the draft of Chapter 2 is THE goal, and not just a reach goal.

    Love being part of this group.

  25. Met last week’s goal after a fashion, although not in the committed, organized, on-top-of-things style that I had wanted. But I’m not beating myself up about this; I did spend 3 hours working on the project, and I’m deliberately keeping goals small-ish until school is over.

    Next week’s goal: Bump it up to four hours of working through sources and taking notes. Also hoping to move toward resolution of a difficult situation with my co-author, although most of that is out of my hands and thus not exactly a goal I can work toward.

    1. Congrats on meeting your goal! I hope the co-author situation resolves itself quickly and smoothly in a way that works well for you.

  26. I did not work on article H last week.

    My goal for weeks 2-3 is to work for 30 minutes on the revision on at least one of the three days I have before I leave on a trip.

    I will not be checking in next Monday.

  27. Well, I didn’t meet last week’s goals, (a few days, not every day) but what I did got me thinking about what I need to carry with me to London at the end of next week, and the various notes I already have that will go into this essay that I will write. Some of these are from earlier scholarly forays, so they are on note cards, which I probably won’t take with me. But I may read through some of them before I leave, to help me think about how I’ll integrate them into the essay I’m working on. I also got some suggestions from a colleague on potential texts to read. So my research and writing is coming into focus.

    Also, one of the non-research things I did last week was read a pile of post-doc applications, all theoretically related to the large theoretical framework of the big project. So while I wasn’t doing my work, I was thinking about how it connected to these proposals. Which was fun.

  28. Last week’s goal: Spend an hour a day transcribing the notes from my handwritten scribbles. If done before the end of the week, outline the article.

    Progress: Managed four days transcribing, but have more to go.

    Analysis: The upside is that the transcribing brings out what are the holes in the article. The slight downside is that it will take longer at this point; however, I’m seeing that as success because I’m working on the next piece in the workflow now, and will save that time later.

    This week’s goal: Transcribe for an hour for five days.

  29. I’m late. And the interview place waited just long enough that I came back here before requesting I come out for another interview, which is great but also … gah. Can all this be over already? I hate red-eye flights!

    Goal: Revise and Resubmit Floyd, by rewriting the framing/historical context and Doing Something about outdated theory.

    Week 2 Goal: read and brainstorm on three ILL books; if possible do two or three 30 minute pondering sessions brainstorming on article.

Comments are now closed.