I did six lines of transcription instead of three today so I could finish.  Now it seems funny that I was so overwhelmed by the discovery that there were 78 lines of the IPM to get through.  Of course, that was in February; lots of silly things seem overwhelming in February.   But now it’s April, with sunny days that are long enough!

I don’t so much have SAD as SBD: seasonal bi-polar disorder.  I’m depressed in winter and manic in summer.  I suppose I should not misuse these terms; by “manic” I mean  something like “low-normal levels of energy and good cheer.”  But the difference in mood and energy certainly is noticeable, and since it seems to take months to adapt to the seasonal depression and figure out the work-arounds for it, I just about get there when spring flips the switch and I start zooming around.  Comparatively.  I really must figure out a way to work with these seasonal ups and downs, since they are predictable, and stop fighting them.  Resolved: do not take on any project with a winter deadline.  Winter is for tiny daily chunks of something non-threatening.

Now I want very much to work on “real writing”: the Companion-Piece revisions, the MMP-1 (my real-life writing group reader thinks I’m nearly there with MMP-1, which is to say there will have to be a lot of filling-in of notes and so on but the structure is working), but I really need to tackle a batch of teaching and service tasks, not to mention the taxes, which I truly cannot put off much longer, and if I’m doing that then I should do some filing and shredding and so on while I’m at it.  Huge sigh.  I wish I could delegate all such things to a PA.

Maybe I will allow myself half an hour of “real writing” and then start the teaching, service, and life-admin.  Maybe I will then issue myself a three-day challenge to get all that stuff done.

The hope would be that on Monday I could start a new work challenge.

4 thoughts on “Challege ends early

  1. Well done for finishing the transcription! And it is good that the days are starting to get longer and lighter.

    When I’ve transcribed Latin documents in the past, it’s sometimes difficult to get a feel for the resonances of the document, to know how to interpret the words in the legalistic context they’re in. Is this something you have a sense of in your document, and how do you go about getting a sense of this?

    1. There is a lot of highly formulaic vocabulary, heavily abbreviated, and I do have a little trouble with that because I’m not familiar with the formulae and vocabulary. I need to read a few IPMs from roughly the same period to pick that up. Some of it, like “tent” (with a couple of abbreviation marks) I know to expand as “tenamentum,” because of having read other land-related documents in which “tenements and messuages” appear regularly. But fairly early in my particular IPM I decided I would just transcribe anything I didn’t recognize as (say) “te*nt#” and figure out the abbreviations later, because the document itself would give me some context as the same words recurred, not always so heavily abbreviated. It would have taken a lot longer to figure out exactly what each line was saying; this way, at least I get the drift.

  2. SBD is a northern thing. In those climes one really does get a whole different personality in winter and summer!

Comments are now closed.