Not, sadly, about the cats, just about work.

The companion-piece to the MMP has been accepted for publication, in what is the fastest turn-around I have ever experienced.

‘Course, it’ll take another year before it’s actually out.

Since I worked on this essay through the spring writing group and mentioned it once or thrice over the summer, I thought I should report results.  A testimonial for writing group support: thank you, everyone who cheered me on during the spring and summer.

I think this is the only time in my life I have produced an article the way “you’re supposed to.”  A year ago, I turned in an abstract for a conference; I worked intermittently on the paper during the course of the year, planning it as an article and focusing on the crucial points for the conference; I revised and expanded over the summer; and here we are, 12 months later, with another 12 to go to the print incarnation.

Now why is the MMP so much more recalcitrant when it deals with fewer manuscripts?

Could it possibly be that I have learned something between starting the MMP (which is beginning to feel like the zombie-article that Will Not Die) and finishing its companion-piece?  As in, dare I hope that after I finally drive a stake through the MMP’s heart, the next thing might be easier?

No, well, look, just tell me it will be, so I can go on.  I’d love to feel more buoyant about this, but the Tiny Cat did not have a great weekend and so the paper just doesn’t seem that important.

23 thoughts on “Some good news for a change

  1. Yay!

    What’s the difference between the MMP and the companion piece again? Is one a primary text being edited?

    1. They both focus on the same MS, but on different texts in it, so then they look at different MSS for comparative purposes. So the MMP looks at MSS A and B, while the companion-piece studies MSS A, C, D, E, and F.

  2. That’s awesome news about the companion piece. Very sorry about Tiny Cat though.These juxtapositions of life and work are crazy sometimes.

  3. Congratulations! Perhaps the publication will be faster than one year or at least the online version will show up faster? I was recently pleasantly surprised by less than 6 weeks from acceptance to online publication by the fanciest journal in my field (they used to have more than a year long publication queue, but with AOP this has changed).

    1. Humanities journals usually don’t do a separate online/print publication, and certainly not on different schedules. It’s not like anyone’s disease will go untreated, or companies will lose money, because they don’t have access to my observations about early-modern reading habits.

  4. Hurrah! So maybe producing an article “the way you’re supposed to” works? Of course, plenty of other approaches work, too. Still, it’s nice when everything goes (unusually) smoothly.

  5. Congratulations on the publication, Dame Eleanor! The fast turnaround must have made the acceptance extra sweet.

    1. I guess I’m perverse, because it doesn’t, really. I hadn’t even started to wonder when I might hear; there wasn’t a chance for any anticipatory build-up. I expected more foreplay!

Comments are now closed.