I ask because initially I mis-read the title of this post of Fie’s: http://fieuponthisquietlife.blogspot.co.uk/2012/07/what-do-you-want-to-do-when-you-grow-up.html

Immediately I started thinking about what I want to do first thing in the morning.  What I need to do is yoga (and usually don’t want to); what I also need (and can usually get myself to do) is vigorous aerobic exercise (don’t ask me why it’s easier to go for a jog or fling myself at an elliptical machine than to sit on a mat and stretch); what I truly want to do is get a cup of tea and go back to bed with my laptop.  I usually do that last thing only when travelling without Sir John, who normally sleeps later than I do.  For the last month, I have had tea and writing in bed nearly every day.  Sometimes it’s my journal, sometimes it’s scholarly writing, but either way, I love my comfortable early-morning sessions, whether there’s sun streaming in the window or whether I enjoy the contrast between the streaks of rain on the panes and my snug nest.

I wish I could do this at home, but the cats think that once a human is up, they should be fed and entertained.  It’s easier on all of us if I run out to the gym, so there is no wide-awake human in the house who refuses feline blandishments.  Maybe I should take my laptop to the gym (there is a hanging-out area there).  Perhaps I’ll try that this fall.  Not on teaching days, when I will have to get out of the house early-early (and will have to fit in writing time in the afternoon, not my favorite), but it’s worth a shot on other days.

7 thoughts on “What do you want to do when you get up?

  1. It’s the same for me. I need to be going for a jog, but I’d much rather get back under my covers and write!

  2. what I should do, get coffee, get on elliptical, do pilates or get coffee start writing. What usually happens, get coffee, start dealing with kids

  3. What should happen? Half an hour with a rowing machine before I get to sit down and write. What does happen? Pets get fed and walked, family members get off to work or school and I don’t get to think about my day until two hours have been burned away.

  4. Haha! That’s a great misreading. 🙂 What I want to do when I get up is have a cup of coffee and chill out reading the news for a little bit. What I normally do instead is stumble through a haze of screaming children and slurp a cup of coffee while trying to convince them to get dressed. Peace and quiet is what I’d like, but almost never what I get. I’m sure I’ll miss the chaos when they’re older. Well… Maybe not.

  5. Each time I hit this post, I get the same thing stuck in my mind. “Oh I would walk 500 miles, but that would make me too damn tired, so I’ll just go and rent a car and drive on down to the local bar. Doot doo doo doo.”

  6. I must be the only person in the world who cannot stand breakfast in bed (I can barely tolerate typing it) and does not want to write in bed.

    I want to get up and read the news, and then write, and then go work out.
    This fall I do not teach until noon, so I can actually do this … ta-ra!

    I have just figured out what I truly dislike: reading e-mail in the morning. I am going to give it up forthwith as an impediment to calm and writing.

Comments are now closed.