I haven’t intended to fall off the face of the earth, and I will be back when I get some things sorted.  But there’s a lot to sort just now.

The Tiny Cat has congestive heart failure.  The good news is that she is responding to a diuretic and perking up a bit, so we may be able to get a few more months with her.  She has had so many health problems all her life that it’s not so very surprising, but all the same I am gutted.  Just when I was looking forward to a productive, happy summer.

Still no new laptop, so only sporadic internet access.  Still other (happier) life complications going on in the background (travel, real estate, that sort of thing).  My goal for the week is to do something, anything, useful and work-related every day, starting today (yesterday was all day at the vet or in too much of a state to do anything).  Today I did a chunk of teaching-related translation.

12 thoughts on “head state: bad

  1. Oh no, poor Tiny Cat and poor you and Sir John. I hope you have a few more months with her, and that her end comes peacefully.

    Being without a computer is really stressful too. How is Glendower? Still destroying things?

  2. Poor Tiny Cat. Hugs to you and a scritch under the chin for Tiny Cat. FWIW, my beloved cat Delphina lived for another year and half after being diagnosed with heart failure and given the diurectic Lasix daily.

  3. Thinking good thoughts for Tiny Cat to carry on as comfortably as possible. Here’s hoping that matters settle down for you. I understand the problem of lurching to and fro as life throws you for a loop.

  4. Oh, dear. Sending good wishes in your, and tiny cat’s, direction. My grandmother lived quite some time (well past the 6 mos. estimate that allowed us to call in hospice), apparently in reasonable comfort (though dementia complicated that equation), with congestive heart failure, but I have no idea how that translates to felines. As I was reminded when weighing the options for a cat with cancer some time ago, the sort of “buying time” that might yield several years for a human often equates to months for creatures with much shorter overall lifespans.

Comments are now closed.