“We decided to pay our manuscripts a visit [in the British Library].  Harold’s were in the familiar, and efficient, green-box files.  Mine were in a smart woman’s shopping bags: Jean Juir, Ferragamo, The White House, Christian Dior, stuffed with tacky and tatty proofs and papers.  I couldn’t resist it: I took out my phial of Miss Dior perfume from my purse and sprayed my manuscripts.  Harold looks up from his inspection of his early works, which he has quite forgotten about: ‘That is the most impressive thing I’ve ever seen in a  library.  I shall never forget it.’  I’m hoping the perfume will steal upon the sense of some researcher in a thousand years’ time.”

Antonia Fraser.  Must You Go? My life with Harold Pinter.  New York: Doubleday, 2012.  219.

One thought on “25 July 1994

Comments are now closed.