“Competition is another spiritual drug.  When we focus on competition we poison our own well, impede our own progress.  When we are ogling the accomplishments of others, we take our eye away from our own through line.  We ask ourselves the wrong questions, and those wrong questions give us the wrong answers.

“‘Why do I have such rotten luck?  Why did he get his movie/article/play out before I got mine out?'” . . . We often ask these questions as we try to talk ourselves out of creating.

“Questions like these allow us to ignore more useful questions: ‘Did I work on my play today?  Did I make the deadline to mail it off where it needed to go?  Have I done any networking on its behalf?'”

 

Julia Cameron, The Artist’s Way (New York: Tarcher/Putnam, 1992), 172-3.

One thought on “Tuesday, 17 April 2012

  1. Helpful! I am apt to think about how much a colleague gets done (one with no service responsibilities), when actually it makes no difference and is a distraction, as this says,

Comments are now closed.