the notes for the poem are the only poem . . .

the mind of the poet is the only poem
the poet is at the movies
dreaming the film-maker’s dream but differently
free in the dark as if asleep

free in the dusty beam of the projector
the mind of the poet is changing

the moment of change is the only poem

Adrienne Rich, “Images for Godard,” 1970; Adrienne Rich’s Poetry, ed. Barbara Charlesworth Gelpi and Albert Gelpi (New York: Norton, 1975), 53.

Of course she kept on writing after 1975.  But even in this early collection, which is what I have to hand, there are amazing riches.  Pun not intended but apposite, so I’m leaving it.

One thought on “Monday, 2 April 2012

  1. In college, I had a professor who would cry every time she read “Phantasia for Elvira Shatayev” aloud in class. That professor has since died, and I find that I now carry on that tradition.

Comments are now closed.