Posting about work progress makes me a little nervous, because I fear I will jinx myself. But I’m now writing that essay I wanted to finish this summer, and in 4 days I’ve reached 2550 words. If I can keep producing at least 500 words a day, every day, I will have a full rough draft before classes start, and then I can edit and polish in daily sessions after teaching begins.

In fact, at the moment, I’m a little worried that the essay will keep growing at an excessive rate and turn into a monograph. That would not be the worst thing that could happen, obviously, though it would take longer to finish.

I’m telling myself to just keep doing the 500-600 words a day and we’ll see what that produces by mid-August. If I hit 10,000 words and there’s no end in sight, then that’s one thing; but if at 10,000 words there’s only one section left to write, then I’ll just have to do some slashing and burning when I reach the editing stage.

I love getting the writing done. And I’m glad I took all the time to outline and take notes, because that’s what makes it possible to pour out all these words.

One thought on “So far, so good

Comments are now closed.